DIY Easter Craft: Easter Egg Paint Chips Garland

Published on by www.coppertech.biz

DIY Easter Craft: Easter Egg Paint Chips Garland
 
WP Greet Box icon
X
Hello there Facebook friend! If you like this article, please help spread the word by sharing this post with your friends.

Entry #499, April 17, 2011

Easter is next Sunday and you still have time for beautiful decor to brighten your home. I found this great one from At Home with Kim Vallee for using paint chips that you probably have lying around from your last painting project! Check out the ideas here, and while you are it, vote at the link below to help a fellow craft blogger get more gigs! :)

_____________________

I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to paint chips (see exhibit A below).  They all look so lovely in the hardware store that I have a hard time sticking to my intended color scheme.  As a result, I have quite a collection.

 

Lately I’ve been eyeing my stack and formulating a few simple projects in my head.  The first of which I present to you today – a DIY Easter egg garland.
This was super easy and turned out even better than I’d hoped.  I love how the white line in the middle mimics the look of a plastic egg.  I even enjoy the slight reflection of words from the back of the paint chips when it’s strung in front of a mirror.
Click through for the quick tutorial and a few more pretty pics.

You can use this to print and cut out an egg template.  I used Home Depot’s Behr paint chips, which have 4 colors per card, and cut them in half eliminating all white except for the line between the two color shades.

I traced the egg on the back of the card (so there wouldn’t be any residual pencil marks on the front) and then cut them out.

Lastly, I punched two small holes in the top of each egg with an extra small hole punch and threaded them onto a piece of waxed cotton.  The cotton did a great job of preventing slippage.

Once all your eggs are strung up you just have to find the perfect spot for them.  Mine has already changed locations a few times and it’s not even April yet… I may have to make a few more.

**UPDATE:

Hi guys, I’m so glad so many of you have liked and tried this project… and I have a favor to ask in return.  Could you please help me get another gig so I can keep doing this one?
All you have to do is go here and vote for my video to become an editor over at hopscout.
I would appreciate it SOOO much because I got in on the game late and there’s already been 3 full days of voting going on without my submission.  The more blogging jobs I get, the more likely it is I can keep this little space of my very own.
Thank you so much!!**
For more Easter ideas on Stagetecture, click here
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post